The earliest recorded sale of
the plantation dates back to 1735. We believe that the
core of the building was already standing and that the
building was later added to following the building customs
of the time, which always took the elements into accounts
for optimal comfort.
main building consists of a center two story unit which
served as living and dining quarters (downstairs) as
well as sleeping quarters (upstairs). Wings were added
to house the kitchen, pantry, washroom to one side and
a formal sitting room and large cistern to the other
side. Covered galleries on both sides of the center
unit provided ample shaded area for informal gatherings.
Adjacent to the main building is an elongated building
which housed the mangazina (warehouses), servants’
quarters, stables, and the carriage house. This building
is connected to the main building by way of an aqueduct
so that the rain falling on the roof of the adjacent
building could also be collected in the main cistern
of the house. In the backyard stands a unique building:
a bath house featuring two stone bath tubs.
In 2001, upon completion of our restoration efforts,
Landhuis Bloemhof was declared a national monument by
the Government of the Island Territory of Curaçao.